Mozart and Ziigwan

Ziigwan takes us into the forest as plants and creatures awaken through the gift of the sun’s warmth after their long winter’s sleep. Joining the orchestra for Ziigwan will be the mesmerizing storytelling of John Rice, an Elder of Wasauksing First Nation, and musical force of nature, violist Sharon Wei.

Friday, July 26 | 7:30 pm

Charles W. Stockey Centre for the Performing Arts

Buy Tickets

About the Performance

Jamie Somerville - conductor

Sharon Wei - Viola

John Rice - Narrator

Festival Orchestra

Ziigwan (2021)                                                                             Richard Mascall 

                                                                                                                     (b. 1972)

Part 1: The Beginning  

I : Ziigwan - Spirit of Spring

II : Opiichii - The Return of the Robin 

III : Ziizbaakdokai’ing - To the Sugaring Grounds 

Part 2: Ziigwan - Fast Flowing Water 

IV : G’chi Ningaabaawe - The Great Melt

V : Bagijwebun- The Releasing Ceremony 

VI : Animigiik - The Thunder Beings

Part 3: Phase Two - The Return to the Coast 

       VII : Megwayaaming - To the Spawning Grounds 

       VIII : Namegos - The Sacred Lake Trout 

       IX : Zagime Niimi’idewin - Mosquito Dance 


Symphony in G minor, No. 40, K 550                  Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 

Molto allegro                                                                                           (1756-1791)


Menuetto. Allegretto-Trio

Finale. Allegro assai

Presented by Gary L Ball & Anna Angus In Memory of Donna Rotherham Ball